EX210 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

EX210 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • EX210 is a single four-hour, hands-on performance exam in a working Red Hat OpenStack Platform cloud, not a multiple-choice test.
  • Red Hat delivers EX210 itself through individual, remote and classroom formats; availability depends on what the booking page shows.
  • Results are usually available within 3 US business days per the exam page, but the program guide says 5.
  • The credential is current for 3 years; renew before it lapses, most commonly by retaking EX210.

Why EX210 Has No Fixed Testing Calendar

Candidates searching for EX210 exam dates often expect a published calendar of testing windows, like the seasonal windows some certification bodies announce a year in advance. That is not how the Red Hat Certified Specialist in Cloud Infrastructure exam is presented. Red Hat's public EX210 page and certification program guide do not publish a fixed set of annual testing windows or registration cut-off dates for this exam. Instead, you book a session in Red Hat's own scheduling system, and the dates you see depend on the delivery format, your region and current seat availability.

That distinction matters for planning. Rather than working backward from a national exam date, you work backward from the earliest open slot in the format you choose. If a date you want is not listed, the practical answer is to check again later or try another delivery format, not to assume a hidden schedule exists.

Don't confuse EX210 with other exams on the calendar: Red Hat publishes separate exam pages and booking flows for its other certifications. Dates, windows and fees you see for a different Red Hat exam do not apply here. Confirm that the exam code on your booking confirmation reads EX210 before you pay.

Individual, Remote and Classroom Booking Formats

EX210 is delivered by Red Hat itself, not through a third-party testing network. According to the program guide, Red Hat's proctored delivery includes individual exams, remote exams and classroom-based exams. Which of these you can actually book for EX210 at a given moment is subject to availability, so treat the list below as the menu of possibilities rather than a guarantee.

Delivery formatHow it worksScheduling consideration
Individual examRed Hat-proctored session booked on its ownDates depend on what the booking page lists for EX210
Remote examTaken from your own location with live proctoring where bookedRequires compatible equipment and a suitable test environment
Classroom examTaken at a Red Hat training session or venueTied to the session dates and locations offered

One point of clarification: the exam is not described in the official materials as a Pearson VUE or PSI appointment, so you should not expect to search those providers' portals for an EX210 slot. Start from Red Hat's own exam page and booking links.

Scheduling Mechanics: Fee, Checkout and Version Selection

The fee you will see

Red Hat's standard certification-exam list price is USD 500. Regional pricing and the exact amount at EX210 checkout were not independently confirmed, so treat that figure as the baseline and verify the final amount at purchase. No member versus non-member price difference is published. If a reseller offers a discount, that is the reseller's arrangement, not Red Hat's exam fee. For a fuller breakdown of what else to budget, see our EX210 certification cost guide.

Choose the right version at booking

The current public EX210 page does not state a numeric Red Hat OpenStack Platform version or a blueprint revision year. It says the objectives reflect the most recent available product and points candidates to an available-version selector. In practice, that means the version choice happens during booking, not on the marketing page.

A caution on version claims: Red Hat's CL211 course-with-exam page uses RHOSP 16.1 and RHEL 8.2 as its training baseline. That describes the course environment, not proof of every currently purchasable exam version. Do not assume the version you studied matches the version you book; read the selector carefully and match your lab environment to it.

Prerequisites to settle before you book

Red Hat states that candidates should have RHCSA-level skills or comparable work experience, plus CL110 and CL210 or comparable Red Hat OpenStack Platform experience, and should review the exam objectives. Course attendance is explicitly not required, and no fixed experience hours or degree is mandated. Our EX210 requirements guide covers what "comparable experience" realistically looks like. Book only after you have worked through the objectives hands-on, because the exam rewards operational fluency rather than recall.

Reading the Four-Hour Clock Before You Book

EX210 is one section lasting 4 hours. The task count and the split between scored and unscored items are not publicly specified, so you cannot calculate minutes per question the way you could for a multiple-choice test. What you can plan around is the shape of the work: hands-on systems-administration tasks carried out in a live Red Hat OpenStack Platform cloud and evaluated against objective results. Your configuration either produces the required outcome or it does not.

Two implications follow for scheduling. First, pick a start time when you can sustain four hours of focused terminal work, not a slot squeezed between meetings. Second, remember that configurations must survive a reboot without intervention. A service that works until restart will not earn credit, so leave time at the end to verify persistence rather than racing the clock on your last task.

What the four hours cover: the ten objective headings

Red Hat lists the exam objectives as ten top-level headings, with no published percentage weights, so plan for breadth:

  • Manage the Red Hat OpenStack Platform control plane
  • Manage infrastructure security
  • Manage user security
  • Manage application deployment resources
  • Manage storage in Red Hat OpenStack Platform
  • Manage networking
  • Manage compute node operations
  • Monitor operations
  • Automate cloud application deployment
  • Troubleshoot operations

Because no heading is officially weighted above another, do not choose your exam date based on a rumor that one area dominates. See our EX210 exam domains guide for a walkthrough of each heading.

Remote Exam-Day Readiness

If you book a remote session, the program guide notes that remote testing requires compatible equipment and live proctoring where booked. Treat the equipment check as part of scheduling, not an afterthought on exam morning. A rescheduling scramble caused by a failed system check costs you more time than the check itself.

  • Run the compatibility check early. Do it days before, not minutes before, so you have time to fix a webcam, network or browser problem.
  • Prepare your space. Live proctoring means the room, desk and surroundings are observed; clear them in advance.
  • Remember the rules. The general handbook prohibits outside assistance, and the exact inventory of product documentation supplied during the exam is not published on the exam page. Do not plan around reference material you assume will be available; build the commands and flags into memory through repetition.
  • Stabilize your connection. A wired connection and a quiet network reduce the risk of interruptions in a four-hour session.

When Results Arrive (and Why Two Sources Disagree)

Red Hat's own materials give two slightly different timelines for results. The EX210 exam page says results are usually available within 3 US business days and are reported as total scores. The general program guide says within 5 business days and mentions objective-area feedback. Neither provides item-by-item feedback on individual exam tasks.

SourceStated turnaroundReporting detail
EX210 exam pageUsually within 3 US business daysTotal score
Certification program guideWithin 5 business daysObjective-area feedback

Rather than promising a single number, plan for the longer window. If your employer, a hiring deadline or a renewal date depends on the result, leave a buffer of at least the longer stated period. A numeric pass mark was not verified in the current exam page or program guide, so we cannot tell you a cut score to expect; our EX210 passing score article tracks what is and isn't confirmed.

Retake Timing After an Unsuccessful Attempt

The EX210 page states that a retake is available after an unsuccessful first attempt, and the general program guide describes one free second attempt for an initially purchased paid exam. The documentation supplied does not spell out a mandatory waiting period for EX210 specifically, so confirm the current retake conditions in your account before you plan a back-to-back attempt.

The practical scheduling advice is to treat the first sitting as a serious attempt rather than a rehearsal, and to use any objective-area feedback to focus your gap work. If you do not pass, resist the urge to rebook the next available slot immediately. Spend the interval rebuilding the weak areas in a lab, then book. Our difficulty guide explains which task types tend to cause trouble, and the pass rate article explains why no credential-wide pass-rate figure is available.

The Three-Year Currency Window and Renewal Deadlines

An EX210 credential is current for 3 years. The deadline that matters most over the long run is not the exam date but the date your status expires, because letting it lapse can leave you non-current.

Renewal routes, with a conflict you should know about

Red Hat's May 2026 framework and FAQ, effective May 11, 2026, describe renewal through retaking the highest-level exam, adding a certification at the same level, or advancing to a higher level, with applicable specialization and transcript rules still mattering. The program guide also supports retaking the original exam to renew that credential. However, the legacy standalone renewal page says Specialists renew only by retaking their own exams and become non-current if they don't.

Which source to trust: Where the legacy page and the newer framework differ, prefer the explicitly updated May 2026 framework, but note that retaking EX210 is the common, verified route in both. No EX210-specific continuing-education quota or CEU-only renewal route is published, and renewal rules for other Red Hat credentials do not automatically apply to EX210.

A sensible approach is to set a calendar reminder well before your three-year mark, book the renewal sitting early enough to absorb a retake if needed, and verify your transcript status in your Red Hat account. For a view of whether the effort pays off, our ROI analysis and salary guide discuss the career side of the decision.

Backward-Planning Your Preparation From the Exam Date

Because there is no fixed testing calendar, you control the date. Choose a slot, then sequence the ten objective headings so the dependencies come first. The control plane and security domains underpin most other tasks, so they belong early. Troubleshooting is best saved for last, when you have enough breadth to diagnose cross-domain faults. This is one example of how to order the work; adjust it to your own gaps.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and access

  • Control plane management
  • Infrastructure security and user security
Weeks 3-4

Core resources

  • Storage in Red Hat OpenStack Platform
  • Networking
  • Application deployment resources
Weeks 5-6

Operations and automation

  • Compute node operations
  • Monitoring operations
  • Automating cloud application deployment
Week 7

Timed, reboot-proof rehearsal

  • Troubleshooting operations under a four-hour limit
  • Reboot every configuration and confirm it persists

For a deeper plan, read our EX210 study guide, and keep the EX210 cheat sheet handy for quick fact review. To check your readiness against realistic task coverage, try the EX210 practice tests before you commit to a booking. If you are still orienting yourself, what is EX210 certification gives the background, and the EX210 jobs overview shows the roles that value it.

Key Takeaway

Book when you can run a clean four-hour lab session without help: every configuration verified after reboot, the correct version selected, and your remote setup tested days in advance. Readiness, not calendar pressure, should set your date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed EX210 testing windows in 2026?

Red Hat's public EX210 page and program guide do not publish fixed annual testing windows. You book a session through Red Hat's scheduling system, and available dates depend on the delivery format, region and seat availability at the time you look.

Who delivers the EX210 exam?

Red Hat delivers it directly, through proctored individual, remote and classroom formats, subject to what is available for EX210 at booking. It is not described as a Pearson VUE or PSI appointment.

How long is the exam, and what is the format?

EX210 is one section lasting 4 hours. It consists of hands-on tasks in a working Red Hat OpenStack Platform cloud, evaluated against objective results, rather than multiple-choice questions. The exact task count is not publicly specified.

How quickly will I get my result?

The EX210 page says results are usually available within 3 US business days, while the general program guide says within 5 business days. Plan for the longer window if a deadline depends on your result.

When do I need to renew, and how?

The credential is current for 3 years. Retaking EX210 is the common verified renewal route, though the May 2026 framework describes additional options such as advancing to a higher level. Renew before your status lapses.

Ready to pass your EX210 exam?

Put this into practice with free EX210 questions across every exam domain.